Workout Faux Pas

UntitledA few weeks ago, I posted about burning more calories if you walk on an incline on the treadmill vs. just on 0.0. Now, be that as it may, for me, it also made my calves bigger and I am NOT a happy camper at all. At first, I thought it was my sneakers being too heavy, maybe, so I ordered a lighter pair. Maybe that has something to do with it also, but it seems to have more to do with the incline.

Then, I read this article and that did it for me:

3. Avoid activities that primarily call for strength, power and speed from your legs muscles, as they will create bigger bulkier muscle. For example, short intense cardio workouts, workouts that require strength and exercises that involve resistance, incline or going up hills. Steep inclines on the treadmill particularly and hill running will develop calves and make big calves even larger.

Now, of course there are articles out there that say that’s not the case, but for me, I’ve found this to be true. I didn’t measure my calves when I first started hitting the gym, but when I did and then worked out for another week (or 2) on inclines, my calves increased by half an inch. So, they probably got a whole inch bigger (at least) since I started.

I stopped the incline and now just go on 0.0. Calories, schmalories. The important thing is I move and sweat, right?