Stubborn Old Mule

You know when you need to do something and you hem and haw, but you still actually do it? Then, that same thing you need to do, and did, is forced on you by someone else by someone in authority (read as: suggested by a doctor) and you just outright don’t do it? No? I’m the only one? I think I’m making up for not being a rebellious kid/teeny bopper and rebelling now.

I finally found a doctor out here in the midwest to go to for my physicals and to complain to about whatever’s bothering me. One of the main things bothering me has been the return of my acid reflux. About 10/11 years ago, I was diagnosed with Esophagitis which basically means that I had little tears in my esophagitis (and stomach?) lining due to acid reflux. Just think of really harsh heartburn. Anyway, instead of sending me on my merry way to get an endoscopy, she tells me I need to lose weight.

*doinks*

Tell me something I don’t know, lady.

Apparently, shedding a few pounds will not only make me look good, but make me feel better and stop these refluxes from occurring. I told her I’ve been trying to lose weight and went back to working out in February. She was happy to hear that.

The thing is, which I didn’t tell her, I haven’t lost much at all. Some weeks, I am more intense than others and some weeks I take “off” due to heat, recovery or sheer laziness. Except for finally doing my Week 5 Day 3 20 minute run, I didn’t work out last week due to heat and laziness. Friday came along (aka Dr. appt) and I still haven’t worked out because, well, I think because something inside me doesn’t like being told what to do. I’m such a bugger, I know. Anyway, now she wants me to come back in 3 months to see my progress, etc.

This week has been a fail so far. I’m hoping I don’t wait until September to start working out with intensity again. I really have no excuse this week. The mornings have been nice and cool as I’m not waking up to 87 degree heat and humidity…I’ve recovered from our Chicago trip and sick puppy woes (trip to the vet earlier this week for our poor poopie pup). I really need to just get on with it. Work is a bit busy, but I should be ok if I can get my run in early enough.

So, here’s a bit of “run-spiration” from Pinterest…No nearby beaches by me anymore, but still a lot of cute summer clothes out there I’d love to sport…even just a tank top and shorts!