Boots…

Yes, an entry about Boots.  Not Boots the Monkey on Dora, but Boots.  The Fall / Winter fashion item.  

I can easily say that I used to be into fashion.  I would have the latest coats, hats, boots, shoes, etc.  It helped that I worked in a shoe store for a couple of years and just kept up to date.  However, with working from home for almost 3 years, it’s also easy for me to say that my fashion sense has gone down the drain.  What do I really need fashion for when I can just wear my PJs day in and day out? 

Well, I need a fashion sense when we have special occassions to attend – like weddings and birthdays and holidays, or other days I’m not just at home.  For example, we went to the Philippines over the summer for 3 weeks.  I didn’t have time to shop before hand b/c I was so busy with work, so all I managed to pack were bummy house clothes and that’s how I looked in all the pictures – like a bummy, housewife/”katulong” (Tagalog word for maid) (before you judge, maids are common in the Philippines). 

Tomorrow, we have a dinner to attend w/my husband’s co-workers and then drinks w/our friends afterwards to celebrate one of their birthdays.  I had no idea what to wear and I was tired of just wearing jeans and sneakers or jeans and Uggs all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my Uggs (though I have to admit, I didn’t like them when they first came out.  Maybe b/c I always just saw Britney looking all trashy in them) and love how comfy they are, but sometimes, I just want to look a little bit more dressed up and put together. 

I’ve been meaning to get a pair of nice boots for awhile so I decided to look at a few sites and I was surprised to see that boots have gotten really pricey in the past 4 years (yes, it’s been 4 years since I bought a pair of nice boots).  The boots I wanted were easily in the $200-$300 range and I wasn’t even sure they’re really in style or my style or comfy – which is most important to me.  I’m not used to wearing heels anymore and I’m almost 40lbs heavier than I used to be when I wore heels all the time.  So, that’s the first dilemma…heel or no heel?  Eventually, I decided to get both.

I suddenly remembered another site I used to shop at – www.endless.com.  LOVE THEM!  Free shipping and it’s OVERNIGHT.  They have great prices too.  So searching I did and next thing you know, I had 18 pairs of boots sitting in my “Saved for Later” cart.  I got some opinions and settled on a few a couple of camel/tan boots with heels (though I really do need black and brown).  I also got a pair of flat slouchy grey boots and menswear style brown mary janes from www.target.com (free shipping if you spend over $50). 

My boots from endless.com should arrive later on today and I HOPE they fit well…especially around my calves.  I tried some boots on last year and my calves were too big for them 😦  I must really rid myself of this 40lbs…even 30lbs or 20lbs would be awesome, but that’s a whole other entry 😉 

I really wanted to get the Tan Steve Madden ones in grey, but we’ll see how the tan ones fit and look first.  I don’t know why I had the sudden obsession w/grey boots.  A friend told me that grey was the new black, I think she was just trying to make me feel better, or she’s probably totally right…

Now, I just need nice clothes to match these cute boots.  I really didn’t want to shop until I lost weight, but I can’t be going around with bum clothes all the time anymore.  Was it really just 4 or 5 years ago that I actually cared about what I looked like and NEVER left the house wihout looking put together (even if I was wearing sweats / track pants)?  I could be wearing casual clothes, but still look put together.  I do that now and just look haggard 😦  I’ll get myself back, I guess…slowly, but surely…baby steps.

Your thoughts?

