Thanksgiving Already…

Thanksgiving is 2 days away…already.  Time to give thanks for all the blessings and get stuffed like a turkey.

We usually have Thanksgiving at my parents’ house and savor in the yummy goodness that is Mom’s (and my sister’s and guests’) cooking, but my lovely sister stole mom for a week and they are out basking in the sun and beaches of Cancun.  They come back on Thanksgiving, but in time for dinner.  Yeah, you did the math right.  The 2 who cook won’t be back in time to cook for Thanksgiving.  So, for the first time ever, I will be making the turkey on my own (provided that places aren’t sold out of turkeys yet – I plan on getting one tonight).  I am going to attempt to make the turkey using my mum’s “secret family recipe” – so she calls it.  I used to always help mum when I still lived at home, but that’s over 6 or 7 years ago now…Wish me luck…

There won’t be a lot of us feasting on my attempts at cooking on Thursday, but maybe around 5 adults or so.  Even though my Mom and sis get back Thursday night, they’ll be going to brother-in-law’s brother’s house.  Our big Thanksgiving dinner has been planned for Saturday.  That’s when the real cooks do their magic.  I’m just a “wanna-be” for now…How’s that for really eating turkey “all weekend long”?

If the turkey turns out well, that’s just another addition to my very long list of things I’m thankful for.  If not, I still get an “A” for effort…so my sister says.  If she decides to take another trip next year, I’m going to make her take ALL of us 😛

Your thoughts?

