2 Days of “rush” workouts…

Yesterday, I was pressed for time.  I woke up late and then Razz kept crying so I kept trying to get her back to sleep.  All in all, I had 30 minutes to go back and forth to the gym AND workout too.  So, I did the Cool Running workout and cut my warm up and cool down time to finish 1.5 miles in 21:20.

Today…I thought I had enough time, but it still didn’t feel like enough.  I didn’t get up at the crack of dawn, but thought it would be ok.  I just wasn’t feeling the workout today.  I don’t know if it’s b/c I kept thinking about my Dad or I need to give my legs a break.  Is 3 days in a row too much?  I didn’t do 5 miles each day though so…

Anywho…I was doing my 1st Workout for the 2nd week according to that Cool Running site (which means 5 minute brisk walk for a warm-upand then 90 second jog 2 minute walk).  My legs felt so heavy and kept getting so tight within the first jog…I was only able to do 2 miles on the ‘mill and then another 1 on the Elliptical.  Still, my legs felt heavy and tight on the Elli too.  Maybe I need to stretch more?  Maybe I should alternate days and let my legs rest every other day or something?  The sun beats down in that room in the morning so I was feeling extra hot, despite the cold (32 degrees) weather outside.  That extra heat didn’t help either.  

I keep trying to push for 5 miles because I have it in my head that that is good distance to lose weight faster (I don’t know, that’s just me), but 5 miles takes FOREVER on the treadmill.  I can’t wait until it gets a bit warmer so I can walk/jog to the gym (which is almost exactly a mile), get on the treadmill (or elliptical) for 3 miles and then walk/jog back for a total of 5 miles. 

 

I think I need to take a class or do some other exercise.  I don’t want to bore myself and end up not working out (which is what’s happened before).  I have to remind myself that I need to keep on doing this and eating healthy so I can lose weight and be healthy (especially w/what’s been going in w/my parents) and so that I can run that 5k next month!

Your thoughts?

