Day 13 – the ‘mill and a Hip Hop Class

I’ve started to get bored with the treadmill and elliptical.  I can barely make it to 3 miles without feeling utter boredom and I actually should / need / want to go 5 miles.  So, I’ve been trying to think of other ways to break out a sweat – the street “jog”, the stroll – and last night, I took a “Hip Hop” class.

I haven’t had the guts to attend class because I fear that I’m so out of shape, I won’t be able to keep up.   Back in 2000-2002 – I used to always take classes.  I was 40lbs lighter and even then, I had a hard time keeping up (but, well, that could very well be b/c I was a smoker…*ding-ding-ding*).  Anywho, I didn’t want to give up working out because of boredom. So, I braved it and went into the class thinking we were going to be doing some Hip Hop moves and chroegraphy and being all “Americas Best Dance Crew” (but not) or something like that, but…helloooooooooooooo…it was an aerobics workout to…get this…Hip Hop music (again “ding-ding-ding*). Let me just tell you – that was THE fastest hour that I’ve EVER spent in the gym.  AND I was sweating profusely, pushing it and feeling the pain (I thought I wouldn’t be able to walk today! ).  I felt so energized after the class that I went on the treadmill for another 2 miles (in 29:51).   That energy kept going when I got home (which was past 9:30pm) that I couldn’t fall asleep right away.  Good thing our President was on Leno (was that awesome or what???)!

So what’s the verdict here?  Well, I will be adding more classes to my workouts and also will continue to try train for the 5k at the end of April and beginning of May.  I just hope I can keep up in the other classes.

Your thoughts?

