“I would rather die a meaningful death than to live a meaningless life.” –Former Philippine President Cory

RIP to the former Philippine President, Corazon Cuangco Aquino. Yes, another well known figure has been laid to rest (how many is that this year???).

This lady was the rock and strength, not only of her family, but of a whole nation.

Her death and burial had FULL coverage on TFC (The Filipino Channel). From what I caught, in between spurts of Noggin, the “Who’s Who” in Filipino Singers and Celebrities were all present. Although, the current President was only there for all of 10 minutes. Granted, she cut her US Trip early to go back and pay her respects to the family, but there is also tension there between the 2 families. At least, that’s what I heard via news, etc. and I don’t know all the details, so I’m not even going to TRY to pretend that I know what’s going on. What I do know is that the songs chosen were perfect. The Eulogies were all touching and emotionally heart wrenching…except for her celebrity daughter’s.

Kris Aquino is the youngest of her children and is the most well known since she is a celebrity there. She’s an actress, hosts talks shows, game shows, has her own magazine (K!, like Oprah’s O!). Anyway, the beginning of her “remembrance of Mom” was indeed touching. I’ll give her that much. She thanked her siblings and recounted some personal memories. Everyone was crying, even I was starting to shed a tear. But! Then she said something that showed her true conceited, “all about me”, idiotic self. She said something like “I always felt like I was Mom’s favorite…she did the most for me…I gave her the most joy.” WTH?

I’m not going to pretend that I know all about her Mom, commonly referred to as “Tita Cory” (Aunt Cory) by almost ALL of the Filipinos. I know the Late President started “People Power” after her Senator husband was assassinated upon return to Philippine soil. She was the next President after the Marcos regime/Martial Law. I don’t know all the details or history…I didn’t grow up there under her reign nor is Philippine History a mandatory subject here. But I do know she was humble, motherly, smart, caring, etc. I wish some of that rubbed off on her youngest of kin.

Your thoughts?

