Totally Ticks Me Off Tuesday –

TIME DIFFERENCE and Offshoring

You know, I don’t mind it so much and I get why there’s a time difference. We’re 3 hours ahead of the West Coast, 7 hours behind Egypt, 9.5 hours behind India, 12 hours behind Malaysia/Philippines, etc. I also have, for the most part, accepted Offshoring. For those who don’t know, it’s where companies send their work outside of the US for cheaper pay/labor. I mentioned this in a previous post, that our company is Offshoring some roles and to not just 1 country, but multiple – India, Malaysia, etc. I have come to terms with the fact that the economy sucks and companies are trying to save money, cut costs and corners whereever possible. So, I understand that we had to Offshore, but, here’s what I don’t get…

These companies “offshore”, work for us. Shouldn’t they work OUR time? Turn around time for things have gone down big time. I used to submit something at 10am and get a reply within 10 minutes to at least let me know who’s working on it and then, if it’s not too crazy, it’s usually done the same day or the next day the latest. Now, I don’t even hear back until the next day and forget it if there are questions that need to be answered. For example, we have programmers in Malaysia I work with. They work 9am – 6pm their time. That’s 9pm – 6am our time. It totally ticks me off that I need to log on at night if I need to have a conversation with them or we have to email each other questions/answers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To read more people who are Totally Ticked Off, check out Mommy from the Midwest or add your own on your blog and linky-linky on hers 🙂

3 thoughts on “Totally Ticks Me Off Tuesday –

  1. oh that would tick me off. Seriously you are right they work for YOUR company not the other way around. I sure hope your company thinks they are getting their money’s worth but man that sucks!
    Thanks for joining in 🙂

  2. I don’t know about our company getting our money’s worth, we are getting a 4% reduction in pay even after Offshoring, but that could also just be the whole effect of the down economy.

    And yes, meeting halfway would be nice…I was online working late again last night just to communicate w/them AND I’m still sick 😦

Your thoughts?

