This post brought to you by the letter “K”

In the post, I guess I’ll have to reveal Beans’ real name. I’m just so proud of her. For months and months, we’ve been practicing with writing her letters. She got a few down pretty quickly – A, B, C, D, E, F, H, I, J, L, etc…Eventually, she came around with the others. But, she had such difficulty with the letter “K” which is the first letter of her first name.

On September 30th, she was discouraged once again, but pDaddy was really on her to get it right. She kept saying she couldn’t do it and she would say “But, I’m only 3! I can’t do it!“. We don’t like to hear the negativity, especially pDaddy. So we were practicing and practicing and with pDaddy pushing her harder than I ever did, she got it! She got her letter “K” and she was ECSTATIC!

She asked how to spell the rest of her name so we would spell it out for her and she would write it. That was Wednesday (9/30). By Thursday morning (10/1), she memorized it and now keeps writing it and writing it and we couldn’t be more proud. Our living room and dining room are proof of this as paper is strewn all over with her name on it. This is, indeed, a HUGE milestone for our lil’ Beanster 🙂

I present to you, Beans’ writing and works of art….Yes, her real name is “KIANA”. PS – can you see the little “stewie griffin” there too? lol
beans' name

In chalk:
KIANA - in chalk
OWL?
beans artwork - owl?

FAMILY (yes, there are 5 of us…she included her half-sister 🙂 ):
beans artwork - family

To the parents out there, when did you child(ren) start writing his/her own name on his/her own? To those with no children, do you remember when you first wrote yours? I don’t remember and I asked my mom…she doesn’t remember either. Now, this isn’t meant to be a contest or anything. I’m just curious because Beans hasn’t attended school yet. I’m a WAHM so she’s been home with me and won’t be attending school until next year (she didn’t make the cutoff dates for Pre-K 4). I just want to know where she falls with this big ol’ milestone.

4 thoughts on “This post brought to you by the letter “K”

Your thoughts?

