You Capture – Still Life

Beth over at ishouldbefoldinglaundry.com challenged us this week to capture “Still Life”. You can check out that link to see more participants…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All pictures are SOOC with the exception of 1 which is noted in the entry.

This was harder than I thought because I couldn’t make up mind on what to take a picture of. I ended up taking pictures this morning of the Halloween lights I got at Target. I wanted to test them out to make sure all was well and no busted bulbs. They sometimes look more pink than orange to me.

Halloween Lights

halloween lights & candles

Also got some of our orange floating candles.
Candles and Lights

And “Wuthering Heights”. I bought this a long time ago at a book sale or garage sale or something. I have no idea how old it is…there’s no page with copyright dates on it. Anyway, I thought it would be good to get my head out of the TWILIGHT Saga for a bit and go back to old school literature. Then again, there were references to this book in the Saga 😉 I’ll be back to reading NEW MOON before the movie comes out though, that’s for sure. MIL has my copy at the moment – getting hooked too…hehehe…

Anyway, here’s the Original. I wasn’t too happy with this. I couldn’t get the title to pop out the way I wanted it to – SOOC.
wuthering heights - original photo

Here’s where I tried to fix it, but still not what I envisioned. I think I envisioned it to pop out even more….or maybe a Sepia tone to the whole pic? Or maybe add grain/texture? I tried all options, but none were doing it for me, so I stuck to this. Any tips or advice you can give me, would be greatly appreciated!
wuthering heights - PS

15 thoughts on “You Capture – Still Life

  1. oh oh oh! I LOVE fairy lights and candles – I have them all over the house. Also, Wuthering Heights is my ALL TIME favourite book. I love your photos :o)

Your thoughts?

