Feeling Defeated…

We’ve been getting a lot of rain these past few weeks here in the Northeast. Today, is one of those crazy, rainy days where the wind seems to be blowing the rain sideways. When all this rain comes down so fast and heavy, our unfinished basement gets flooded.

Over the weekend, my dad helped us clear some old rugs that got drenched and clear out our basement so we can get rid of our accumulated junk over the past 4+ some years. He also is helping us w/finishing the basement now INCLUDING installing a sump pump.

That sump pump got tested today and FAILED.

I am so frustrated! I was feeling so defeated earlier that I actually started to cry!

You see, they even started to put walls up already. We already started trying to figure out what we were putting where. We were going to set up my office down there and the girls’ play room so our poor dining room won’t look like the catch-all room anymore. We were trying to figure out where to put the TV and some chairs/couches. We’ve been sorting and throwing and decluttering to prep for our new and improved basement! We’ve still outgrown this house and don’t think another baby will be easy to fit in here, but at least the basement will give us some new space to use.

Then, this…this is what happened today (excuse the quality…that’s from my cellphone):
Grrr...rain
That pic is not even the worst of it…It’s not like we got a foot of water or anything, but about a half an inch to an inch. It’s enough to do damage to whatever’s on the floor…some clothes in boxes, some books, etc…

I don’t understand why the sump pump didn’t work. Who am I kidding? I don’t know how that thing is supposed to work in the first place, just that it’s supposed to. I don’t know, but I hope adding tiles will solve the issue. It looks like there might be a hole or something that the old owners cemented, but now spits out water when it rains hard. Maybe covering it up w/cement/tiles will work? I don’t know, I just feel like we were winning, winning, winning and lost the game at the last minute.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Defeated…

  1. Oh honey. 😦 That is so so horrible!! I hope you can find out what is causing the issues and get it fixed so it doesn’t happen again. That’s got to be heartbreaking. 😦

    • Well, we’re continuing on w/the renovation and I hope they fixed whatever caused it too. Helps that they’re now going to add a French Drain and treating the walls (the original walls behind the new walls…make sense?) lol

Your thoughts?

