About that “Running”

--from coolrunnings.comI feel like I’m stuck. I’m following the Cool Runnings Couch to 5k plan and have finally moved onto Week 3, but may be going on too fast a pace b/c I don’t think I can run and talk at the same time. I’m out of breath as it is. I was on Day 2 yesterday and couldn’t finish the last 3 miniute jog. My legs got real heavy and my shins started to hurt 😦 Looks like I will be staying on week 3 for awhile, it seems, but I guess that’s ok. I don’t like moving to the next week until I’m really comfy in the week I’m in. I was on Week 2 for 3 weeks. I just feel like I’m never going to be able to run 30 or 45 minutes straight or the whole 5k straight. I wanted to see if I could sign up for a 5k on May 5th, but I don’t think I’d be ready for it 😦

I’m new-ish to all this running (I attempted all this 3 years ago and didn’t get past week 2). Anyway, I’m wondering if shoes can cause my shins to hurt? I love my Lunaracers, but they do feel too snug (or are they supposed to be?) on my semi-wide feet.

If anyone out there has any tips or techniques for this newbie runner, greatly appreciated! I feel like I want to go at a faster pace so I can get better time, but I guess I’m supposed to be able to run and talk at the same time (from what I’ve read). Just don’t want to get bored of it all 😦

Also, what other exercises should I do? Any other cardio? I’m doing a little strength training, but I just started this week and focused mostly on my arms (since I feel like my legs are getting a workout from the walk/runs) and also a little on my hips and back.

I want to be able to run and get “shredded” and be fit and be healthy, but I’m starting to get bored and frustrated…

/end of newbie runner rant

PS – thank you to Eastbay for the quick exchange! The whole return/exchange process (the ones I originally ordered were too small) was completed in 1 week! I guess it helps that we are both in the midwest, but THANK YOU! Great customer service too!

6 thoughts on “About that “Running”

    • I’m hoping it does get better…Thanks for that “push” πŸ™‚ Now, the debate is still on with whether or not I sign up for a 5k on 5/5….I think I may just do it! I don’t think I’ll be running anything under 15 or 16 mins per mile, but…gotta start somewhere, ya know?

  1. Wish I had something to suggest but I’m in the same boat re: shin splints. Very frustrating. I’m trying to do some shin and calf exercises daily and before I try to run. So far it’s not helping but I’ve only just started. Good luck to you!

Your thoughts?

