Muscle Weighs More Than Fat

I need to keep telling myself this because while the scale hasn’t moved down much, I just took measurements and I’m down 4.25 inches since last month!!!  WOOT-WOOOO!!!

The scale is actually showing that I’m up half a pound, but down 4.25 inches…OK, fine, I’ll take it!  Some of my clothes are starting to fit differently too 🙂

Down 4.25 inches…that may not be much to some, and frankly, I know that # could and should be higher so I will really need to focus on eating healthier and pushing harder.  I am doing better with getting to the gym at least 3x a week, but am not eating well all the time (fast food is SO much faster, but I do try to at least get salads most of the time) nor am I pushing that hard.

My alarm clock goes off at 5:50am every weekday morning.  I hit snooze and get up anywhere between 6 and 6:20am.  By the time I walk the pup and have a couple sips of coffee, I’m lucky if I’m out the door before 6:50am.  This leaves me 30 minutes, at most, to work out in the gym.

Luckily, the Cool Running Couch to 5k Program is based on 30 minutes per session, but really, I should do more than that.  Back in NJ, I used to walk 1 mile to the gym and do at least 3 miles on the treadmill and walk back 1 mile (of course, weather permitting).  I would either walk / “run” those 3 on the treadmill (mostly walked), but still, that’s 5 miles total.  Now, I get about 2, if that.  Sometimes, I’m really running  late that I have to cut corners and just work out for 24 minutes or less – shaving off time from warm up and cool down.  I need to do better with stretching too.  I need more time for that.

So what’s the game plan?  I need to just get up out of bed earlier and MAKE time.  Make time to get to the gym for at least 45mins.  Make time to cook more food…healthier food and have enough for left overs.  Time, time, time…never enough of it, is there?

But HEY!  Down 4.25 inches…man, can I go off on a tangent!

Your thoughts?

