Losing Weight, Not Just for the Vain

4 Week GoalsYup, I need to lose weight and it’s not to look pretty or be skinny anymore. It’s nothing to do with vanity…nope. It’s for my health. I had some bloodwork done and my numbers were pretty high for cholesterol. In fact, the doctor said I should be on medication with my numbers, but she didn’t want to put me on medication until I tried to lose weight first. I’m not even clear on how much weight I need to lose.  She may have told me, but I think I was too dumbfounded at the moment and forgot to ask.  I think even losing 10 lbs would help.

Through the years, I have had my ups and downs with weightloss. I had stints of getting into working out, running, dieting, etc. I would lose weight, but would gain it back. I never got to my goal weight. Over the summer, I started one of the BeachBody programs (same company that sells/promotes “P90X”, “Insanity”, etc.). I started “TurboFire” and let me tell you, it is great! The instructor, Chalene Johnson, knows how to get you going and keep you going. I lost weight on it, but didn’t keep it off because I didn’t keep up with the program and at some point, fell off the wagon w/working out and eating.

My problem is 2-fold: Eating (not the best of foods and not in small portions) and Motivation.

I can be so gung ho about working out and getting in shape and my mindset will be in the right place, but for some reason, I end up getting distracted and losing that motivation. This time around, it was because girls and I kept getting sick with the change in seasons. Still, when we got better, I didn’t go back to working out with gusto like I did.

Same with food, I can be so healthy 1 week and then devour fast food and junk food the next week (and the week after that, etc.).

I need to stop this, I know it. I like how I feel when the inches come off. I love that my clothes get loose and I’m not “muffin-topping” like crazy.  I love that I have more energy when I workout and lose weight.   I love that even my skin benefits from me sweating (releasing toxins, I guess). I need to get going and make changes. I need to be healthy. High cholesterol at 35 is not cool. Being on medication is not cool and for what? Lack of focus and motivation?!?!

I need to start eating better, but dieting is not for me. Restricting myself from certain foods just makes me binge on them later on. I just need to eat clean as much as possible and/exercise more portion control.

I know what I need to do and I need to make myself accountable.  My #s need to go down and not just on the scale.  They need to go down for cholesterol and dress sizes.  I hate that I just had to buy an XL skirt because my waist is too big, but I have to get it hemmed because it’s too long.   Big waist and short legs are just not a great combo!

I follow Chalene Johnson’s FB page and she put on there to make 4 Week Goals. That was one of the 1st things I did today and I posted it on Instagram and on our Turbofire Challenge Group page on FB. pDaddy signed up for a family gym membership so I am starting to go there now…so far I went Friday and Sunday. I may not be following Turbofire workout schedules to the “T” anymore, but I will still use some of those DVDs. They are awesome workouts! I wish I could have had more focus and more determination/motivation to do the full 90 day program because I know I would have seen results. I saw results after the first 2 weeks!

So anyway, here is me…being accountable with 4 Week Goals (pictured above):

By January 10, 2013, I will be able to proudly say I:

  • have worked out at least 4-6x/wk (Turbo/Gym)
  • lost 10 lbs
  • am able to do 10 push-ups with no knees
  • am able to do 10 tricep push-ups
  • lost 2″ from my waist
  • drank 80 oz of water daily
  • can run 1 mile straight
  • can finish CORE 20* (floor work) without stopping
  • limited bad carb in-take
  • increased fruits and veggies
  • made daily TO DO lists and prioritized

There you have it.  4 weeks from today.  Wow, I just made “resolutions” before New Year’s!

 

*CORE20 is a TurboFire workout

2 thoughts on “Losing Weight, Not Just for the Vain

  1. Pingback: Never Fails… | BZMomma's Ramblings

  2. Pingback: 4 Weeks Later | BZMomma's Ramblings

Your thoughts?

