Benefit Love

ip5 1386Amazing what switching from threading to waxing can lead to.

For a year now, I’ve been getting my eyebrows threaded. I went to 3 different places and usually, only 1 lady got it right and it was in one of those middle of the mall kiosk things. I didn’t mind it, but I always felt weird when people walking past would just stop and look. Like, um, a little privacy/space please. Which, of course, not happening when you’re getting it done in the middle of the mall.

So anyway, I decided to go to our local Ulta and just walk around. Lo and behold, we have a Benefit Brow Bar. I figured I’d give it a shot. I loved it and I love the girl who did my eyebrows (and upperlip…shh…who said that???). She was so friendly and knew all about my pains of having oily skin (which has nothing to do with waxing, but I was probably just paranoid thinking my oily skin was gushing out as she was waxing..close proximity makes me babble even moreso).

She offered to put concealer on after my waxing to hide the redness and of course, I was curious and had her make sure it matched me correctly. She swore by it and so of course, I bit the bait and got it. The concealer is called Boing by Benefit. I don’t use it all the time and really, I’m still getting used to a concealer. I never really wore one before even though everyone and their mothers knew I needed to. It might give off a bit more of a yellowish tone that I”m used to b/c when I went to wear my usual lippie, the color was off. Maybe I need to just go a smidge lighter. She pretty much matched my color instead of going lighter, but I am new to concealer so maybe that age old “go a shade lighter” doesn’t apply anymore? I guess next time I go, I will ask to try the lighter shade and see. Ulta is one of the stores where you can return a used product so long as it’s not almost all used up.

Anywho, I decided to walk around some more and discovered Benefit’s Fine One One. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! It’s a highlighter, blush and it just gives a nice warm glow and it’s buildable. Go as sheer or as bold as you want! Added bonus? You can use it on your lips too. It comes off a bit pale on me, but its good for that pale/neutral look that goes well with the smokey eye. It is creamy so I’m a bit apprehensive about using it bc of my oily skin though it seems to be ok so far. I know I’ll be wearing more of this during this spring/summer for the color (again, I hope it’s not too oily in the heat). I’m already trying not to use it too much now b/c it is still winter.

My most favorite Benefit product came 2 weeks later when I had to get my eyebrows done again. This time? Mascara. I needed a new one b/c mine are over 6 months old and that’s no bueno. Now, I’m a WAHM so I don’t need to really be buying makeup all the time, I know this…shhh…But, this mascara had me intrigued and it helped that my eyebrow girl (and 2 others working that night) kept raving about it. It’s called They’re Real Mascara. It really does build volume and lengthens all in one! The brush is designed so you can use it horizontally and vertically (that’s why the tip is curved…that’s what you use to separate and curl). That’s the only pic of me looking up where you can see my lashes in that angle and it was a rush day of applying the mascara (I didn’t wiggle it on right) so sorry if it doesn’t look great, but believe me, it really gives your lashes UUMPH AND it is waterproof AND sweatproof (already tested that out during a Pilates Reformer class and while on the elliptical for an hour)! Being that it is sweatproof and I’m trying to go to the gym more often, yes, this WAHM actually wears mascara to the gym now. lol Might as well make the most of it!

Speaking of mascara…Here are tips from Allure… wiggle-wiggle-wiggle-wiggle-wiggle-yeah!

http://www.allure.com/makeup-looks/2013/most-common-mascara-mistakes?s_cid=facebook__20130306_6222174#slide=1

2 thoughts on “Benefit Love

  1. I love Benefit and will speak the praises of their stuff for days. I too love Boing but mines drying out a bit, but that may have something to do with the fact that it was part of a little box set that doesn’t really seal air tight. I make sure I’m moisturized well first. I was torn between They’re Real and Bad Gal and went for Bad Gal. I love it. Other faves are Benetint and High Beam. Your brows look great, I’m kind of obsessed with eyebrows and notice everyone’s.

    • I’ve had Benetint and don’t use it much. I have no idea why. I got HIgh Beam as a free sample and haven’t used it yet either.

      They came out with a new concealer – Fake Up. It’s supposed to be hyrdrating! I’m going to try to pick it up today or Monday and then maybe return my Boiing. Anyway, check out Fake Up!!! Might be just what you’re looking for 🙂

Your thoughts?

